From 1967-68 to 1973-74, each school could enter two singles players and two doubles teams into the state tournament. Singles players earned two points for their school for every victory, while doubles teams earned three points for their school with every win. The school with the most accumulated points at the conclusion of each level of the tournament — sectional, regional and state finals — was declared the team champion. The winning individual(s) that advanced through the entire tournament were honored as singles state champions and doubles state champions.

Beginning in 1974-75, the team format that is used today was introduced, which called for three singles players and two doubles teams from each school to play head-to-head (each victory worth one point) to determine the winning team.

2021-22CarmelBryan HananFishers5-0
2020-21CarmelBryan HananSB St Joseph4-1
2019-20Canceled due to
2018-19CathedralMark NoePark Tudor3-2
2017-18CarmelSpencer FieldsCathedral3-2
2016-17CarmelSpencer FieldsProvidence5-0
2015-16CathedralMark NoeSB St. Joseph3-2
2014-15CarmelMike BosticMunster5-0
2013-14CarmelMike BosticNorth Central5-0
2012-13CarmelMike BosticFloyd Central4-1
2011-12Evansville MemorialRay TrappCathedral3-2
2010-11CarmelSharon RosenburghEvansville Memorial3-2
2009-10SB St. Joseph'sBill MountfordColumbus North5-0
2008-09CarmelSharon RosenburghHomestead4-1
2007-08Park TudorDave HeffernMunster4-1
2006-07Park TudorDave HeffernMunster4-1
2005-06Park TudorDave HeffernMunster3-2
2004-05Park TudorDave HeffernEvansville Memorial3-2
2003-04North Central (Indpls.)Heather IffertHomestead5-0
2002-03CarmelSharon RosenburghJasper5-0
2001-02North Central (Indpls.)Heather IffertJasper4-1
2000-01Terre Haute SouthBill BlankenbakerAnderson Highland5-0
1999-00Park TudorDave HeffernTerre Haute South4-1
1998-99North Central (Indpls.)Heather IffertTerre Haute South3-2
1997-98Park TudorDave HeffernEvansville Memorial4-1
1996-97North Central (Indpls.)Heather IffertMunster4-1
1995-96Evansville MemorialBrenda WallingHomestead3-2
1994-95Evansville MemorialBrenda WallingHomestead5-0
1993-94Evansville MemorialBrenda WallingMunster3-2
1992-93Evansville MemorialBrenda WallingNorth Central (Indpls.)3-2
1991-92North Central (Indpls.)Heather ClarkJasper4-1
1990-91Evansville MemorialBrenda WallingNorth Central (Indpls.)3-2
1989-90CarmelSharon RosenburghEvansville Memorial4-1
1988-89CarmelSharon RosenburghHomestead5-0
1987-88North Central (Indpls.)Sheila EvansElkhart Central5-0
1986-87North Central (Indpls.)Sheila EvansHomestead5-0
1985-86Indianapolis CathedralPaul Farrell /
Jim Williams
Elkhart Central5-0
1984-85North Central (Indpls.)Sheila EvansHomestead4-1
1983-84BrebeufTom WestElkhart Central5-0
1982-83BrebeufTom WestLafayette Jefferson4-1
1981-82North Central (Indpls.)Sheila EvansFW Bishop Luers5-0
1980-81BrebeufTom WestCarmel,
Evansville Harrison,
Terre Haute South
1979-80BrebeufTom WestFW Bishop Luers,
SB Adams
1978-79BrebeufTom WestEvansville Harrison,
SB Adams
1977-78North Central (Indpls.)Connie SummeBrebeuf Jesuit18-13
1976-77North Central (Indpls.)Cindy BarkleyMunster25-15
1975-76North Central (Indpls.)Cindy BuennerEvansville Memorial17-14
1974-75Bloomington SouthSharon Wyman--10pts
CrawfordsvilleAnita Rupar
SB St. Joseph’sMarijean Kniefel

Most State Championships

12North Central (Indpls)1975-76, 1976-77, 1977-78, 1981-82, 1984-85, 1986-87, 1987-88, 1991-92, 1996-97, 1998-99, 2001-02, 2003-04
11Carmel1988-89, 1989-90, 2002-03, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17, 2017-18, 2020-21, 2021-22
6Park Tudor1997-98, 1999-00, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08
6Evansville Memorial1990-91, 1992-93, 1993-94, 1994-95, 1995-96, 2011-12
5Brebeuf Jesuit1978-79, 1979-80, 1980-81, 1982-83, 1983-84
2Cathedral2015-16, 2018-19
Bloomington South*1974-75
1Indianapolis Cathedral1985-86
1SB St. Joseph’s*1974-75
1TH South2000-01

Most Runner-Up Finishes

7Homestead1984-85, 1986-87, 1988-89, 1994-95, 1995-96, 2003-04, 2008-09
7Munster1976-77, 1993-94, 1996-97, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2015
5Evansville Memorial1975-76, 1989-90, 1997-98, 2004-05, 2010-11
3Elkhart Central1983-84, 1985-86, 1987-88
3Jasper1991-92, 2001-02, 2002-03
3North Central (Indpls.)1990-91, 1992-93, 2013-14
3Terre Haute South1980-81, 1998-99, 1999-00
2Cathedral2011-12, 2017-18
2Evansville Harrison1978-79, 1980-81
2FW Bishop Luers1979-80, 1981-82
2SB Adams1978-79, 1979-80
2SB St. Joseph2020-21, 2015-16
1Anderson Highland2000-01
1Brebeuf Jesuit1977-78
1Floyd Central2012-13
1Lafayette Jefferson1982-83
1Park Tudor2018-19