From 1967-68 to 1973-74, each school could enter two singles players and two doubles teams into the state tournament. Singles players earned two points for their school for every victory, while doubles teams earned three points for their school with every win. The school with the most accumulated points at the conclusion of each level of the tournament — sectional, regional and state finals — was declared the team champion. The winning individual(s) that advanced through the entire tournament were honored as singles state champions and doubles state champions.

Beginning in 1974-75, the team format that is used today was introduced, which called for three singles players and two doubles teams from each school to play head-to-head (each victory worth one point) to determine the winning team.

2022-23North CentralLucas WaakWl Harrison3-2
2021-22CarmelBryan HananZionsville5-0
2020-21CarmelBryan HananNorth Central 3-2
2019-20CarmelBryan HananNorth Central3-2
2018-19CarmelBryan HananNorth Central3-2
2017-18CarmelSpencer FieldsJasper5-0
2016-17CarmelSpencer FieldsNorth Central4-1
2015-16North Central Dan BurnettePark Tudor3-2
2014-15North CentralDan BurnetteCarmel3-2
2013-14North Central Dan BurnettePark Tudor3-2
2012-13CarmelMike BosticNorth Central 4-1
2011-12CarmelMike BosticNorth Central 5-0
2010-11CarmelMike BosticBrebeuf Jesuit4-1
2009-10Park TudorDave HeffernBloomington South3-2
2008-09Center GroveIvan SmithZionsville4-1
2007-08North CentralSpencer FieldsCulver Military Academy5-0
2006-07Park TudorDave HeffernHomestead4-1
2005-06CathedralMark NoePenn4-1
2004-05CarmelMike BosticPenn5-0
2003-04CarmelMike BosticWest Lafayette4-1
2002-03Park TudorDave HeffernSouth Bend St. Joseph’s4-1
2001-02Center GroveIvan SmithTerre Haute North4-1
2000-01North CentralSpencer FieldsHomestead4-1
1999-00JasperEd YarbroughCenter Grove3-2
1998-99Park TudorDave HeffernKokomo3-2
1997-98Park TudorDave HeffernCenter Grove3-2
1996-97Park TudorDave HeffernTerre Haute South4-1
1995-96North Central Byron BuckleyHomestead5-0
1994-95North Central Byron BuckleyHomestead4-1
1993-94North Central Byron BuckleyFloyd Central4-1
1992-93North Central Byron BuckleyHomestead5-0
1991-92MarionBill BeekmanCarmel3-2
1990-91Park TudorBill BurgmanSouth Bend St. Joseph’s5-0
1989-90North Central Byron BuckleyLaPorte5-0
1988-89North Central Byron BuckleyMarion4-1
1987-88CarmelLee LonzoJasper5-0
1986-87North Central Byron BuckleyHomestead4-1
1985-86North Central Byron BuckleyJasper4-1
1984-85North Central Byron BuckleyHomestead5-0
1983-84North Central Byron BuckleyMarion5-0
1982-83North Central Byron BuckleySouth Bend Adams3-2
1981-82CarmelLee LonzoHomestead4-1
1980-81CarmelLee LonzoHomestead4-1
1979-80North Central Byron BuckleyLaPorte5-0
1978-79North CentralByron BuckleyEvansville Memorial4-1
1977-78North Central Byron BuckleyMunster5-0
1976-77North Central Byron BuckleyLafayette Jefferson5-0
1975-76Lafayette JeffersonJack SchultNorth Central 3-2
1974-75South Bend AdamsJohn McNarneyNorth Central 4-1
1973-74Brebeuf JesuitRalph TramontiniTerre Haute Schulte12-9
1972-73Broad RippleWilliam SirkaMishawaka12-9
1971-72Crown PointBob SindyFW Concordia / Broad Ripple12-9
1970-71PeruJoe SainePike13-12
1969-70PikeDon OrrBloomington12-9
1968-69LaPorteRobert LeRoyIndianapolis Scecina15-12
1967-68New AlbanyDamon SimsNorthwestern20-9

Most State Championships

21North Central (Indpls.)1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 2000, 2007, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2022
14Carmel1980, 1981, 1987, 2003, 2004, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021
7Park Tudor1990, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2009
2Center Grove2001, 2008
1Brebeuf Jesuit1973
1Crown Point1971
1Indianapolis Broad Ripple1972
1Indianapolis Cathedral2005
1Lafayette Jefferson1975
1New Albany1967
1South Bend Adams1974

Most Runner-Up Finishes

9Homestead1980, 1981, 1984, 1986, 1992, 1994, 1995, 2000, 2006
8North Central (Indianapolis)1974, 1975, 2011, 2012, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
2Bloomington1969, 2009
2Center Grove1997, 1999
2Jasper1985, 1987
2LaPorte1979, 1989
2Marion1983, 1988
2Park Tudor2013, 2015
2Penn2004, 2005
2South Bend St. Joseph’s1990, 2002
2Zionsville2008, 2021
1Culver Military Academy2007
1Evansville Memorial1978
1Floyd Central1993
1Fort Wayne Concordia1971
1Indianapolis Broad Ripple1971
1Indianapolis Scecina1968
1Lafayette Jefferson1976
1South Bend Adams1982
1Terre Haute North2001
1Terre Haute Schulte1973
1Terre Haute South1996
1West Lafayette2003
1WL Harrison2022